The battlefield: Recap of the 5/8/14 Meeting

For our opening question, we learned about everyone’s favorite and least favorite household chores. Who knew that Renee liked to clean her kitchen, and Penne likes to work on landscaping and gardening? It seemed many people enjoyed someone else’s least favorite chore, so maybe a chore co-op is in order?

In my introduction to the lesson, I shared that I don’t know much about being a soldier, going to battle, or anything associated with an actual battlefield. However, I do know what it likes to be spiritually at war. During my time as a graduate student, I felt the effects of being in a culture where Christ was not valued. I was questioned, belittled, and tempted to give in to the pluralism that surrounded me. I felt the enemy working on me in the way that was most effective at the time: I felt my intelligence was threatened. I wanted to be smart, and more importantly, I wanted others to see me as smart. The Holy Spirit worked with me during this time, but not in the way I might have asked for. I wanted to stay true to my beliefs, but still be honored and respected by those in my program. Instead, I stayed true to my beliefs in the midst of opposition, and a lot of people continued to think this made me weak and stupid.

In 2 Corinthians 12:9, Paul is talking with God, asking for his weakness to be taken away. God replies “But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. God’s strength is made perfect in weakness.” To move beyond ourselves and our pride reveals God in a powerful way. It may not seem like much of a battle strategy, but when others see this weakness in action, they see beyond you to the One you are following. It’s not your battle to win, it’s His. I pray that God keeps using me as an instrument in his battle.

We read through Philippians chapter 1:27-30 together. (read this now!), and discussed what we learned from studying Philippians on our own this week.

Prayer Time: As usual, we ended our session with prayer time in small groups. Keep praying for one another this week. There is such power in community prayer!

Verse of the night:

Whatever happens, conduct yourselves in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ. Then, whether I come and see you or only hear about you in my absence, I will know that you stand firm in the one Spirit, striving together as one for the faith of the gospel ” (Philippians 1:27) 

For next session (5/15): Please read the book of Philippians and complete Lesson 3, “Like Minded” in your Be Joyful book.

Leave a comment